Top 5 Reasons You Should Love Yourself On Valentines Day (And Every Day Thereafter)

Not gonna lie, Valentines Day has me thinking A LOT about love, which is something I never do lol. I guess I just suppose love happens so naturally in my everyday life, that its not something I spend time pondering. In my morning and evening prayers I tell God how much I love Him. I tell the people in my life that I love them as often as possible. I even told a colleague this week (who I’m not close to at all) that I’m sending love their way because she was having a tough week. And in thinking about this value of love, it hit me today that I NEVER tell myself that I love me. Do you? Maybe you do lol. But in that thought, I pushed myself to consider all of the reasons I should love myself, AND TELL MYSELF….so I figured I’d share the top 5 with you. In all of the things I came up with, they all seemed to stem from one simple understanding, and that is that I was created in God’s image, which means there are MANY reasons I should love myself. Genesis 1:27 reminds me that “…God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” So with that, here are my top 5 reasons you should love yourself this Valentines Day (and every day thereafter):

5. You were intricately woven.

Psalm 139:13-16 “For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.”

I LOVEEEE this passage so much because it allows me to embrace all of those quirky, awkward things about myself that others may find, well, unlovable lol. Intricately woven in my mind emphasizes the fact that we all have idiosyncrasies and were strategically given those quirks when God formed us in our mothers’ womb, and THAT is one heck of a reason to love yourself.

4. You were created with your very own gifts.

Romans 12:6 “In his grace, God has given us different gifts for doing certain things well. So if God has given you the ability to prophesy, speak out with as much faith as God has given you.”

How exciting is it to know that we were given our own special gifts to contribute thoughtfully to the world around us and to God’s kingdom? And while I sometimes struggle with trying to understand just what exactly my gifts are,  I absolutely love that God thought enough about me to give me a purpose in this lifetime. Whatever and whenever I hone in on what those gifts may be, I know that I’m going to LOVE those things abut me lol.

3. You were made a little lower than the angels.

Psalm 8:5 “You have made them a little lower than the angels and crowned them with glory and honor.”

Wow! The same spirit that crafted the angels, crafted me. How incredible is that? This alone lets me know how valuable I am in the eyes of God. In other words I should love myself more than I love the valuable material things in life and verbalize this proclamation every chance I get.

2. God called you His friend.

John 15:13 “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”

I love that God thinks so highly of us, enough to call us a friend, even when we don’t behave like a good friend to Him. Sometimes all it takes is that one amazing friend to tell you how awesome you are for you to remember why you should love yourself. God is the ultimate ego-booster, picking me up when I’m at my lowest and reminding me that I was made in greatness.

1. God loved you first.

1 John 4:19 “We love because he first loved us.”

If God can love us, past all our faults, then we should love us too. Period. I vow to tell myself that I love me every day hereafter. Join me?

Love,

ACC ♥♥♥

IMG_4097

4>

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

