No More Pushing Pedestals!!!

This topic has been on my mind for a while, but today… NOW is the time to address it. 

THE SEASON IS RIGHT.

Over the past year, I’ve witnessed multiple instances of people putting others on pedestals. I’ve seen the highs and lows of it. It’s not pretty! Somebody has to address it, so it may as well be me. 

If you’re clueless as to what I’m referring to, let me share some examples… pedestal

1) Cool-married-couple highly esteems Popular-married-couple. Popular-married-couple is extremely attractive to the eyes. Their lives screams the qualities of the life you & your spouse desire. To top it all off, they have 100k+ followers on Instagram. So they must be the marriage and ministry gurus, right?! So, Cool-married-couple uses their social media to promote Popular-married-couple’s messages, as well as supporting all of their ministry events. Although Cool-married-couple knows other people in successful marriages, they choose to give more attention to and nurture the friendship with Popular-married-couple. For their own reasons, they placed Popular-married-couple on a pedestal. couple

Fast forward one year and it is revealed that Popular-married-couple not only aren’t the warm and fuzzy people they have advertised themselves to be, but now they are currently separated with a dismantled online ministry. #blankstare

2) Church-leader highly esteems Younger-leader. Younger-leader has somehow become the representative of the church for who all youth should aspire to become; and likewise has expressed a desire to forge into full time ministry there. In many ways, Younger-leader is the apple of all the church leaders eyes. Church-leader invests in the decisions of and becomes a spokesperson for Younger-leader. Although Church-leader knows other youth needing attention, they choose to give more attention to and nurture the life and future of Younger-leader. Because of Church-leader’s hopes to see them someday preaching at their church, they placed Younger-leader on a pedestal. pastor

Fast-forward a year and Younger-leader has not only changed their mind about going into full time ministry, but has left that church all together. #YesIndeedy

3) Christian-family highly esteems their Christian-teenager. Christian-family boasts often about the purity, character, and excellent grades of Christian-teenager…always appearing as the number one fan. When Christian-teenager got a little older and got married, Christian-family posted on social media about how proud they are to have a child who lived a pure life and abstained from sex until marriage. Although Christian-family has other children, they choose to give more attention to and nurture the life of Christian-teenager. For their own reasons, they placed Christian-teenager on a pedestal. 

Fast-forward a year and Christian-teenager admits, “I was not a virgin when I got married, but I was afraid to admit it because of the pedestal my family put me on.” #thiscantbelife virgin

I have a couple more examples, but with caution to blog length…I’ll leave it there.

There are many problems with pushing pedestals, but the ones directly on my mind right now are that people tend to place their hope in those they are putting on pedestals. Our absolute hope should be built on Christ alone. Sure, it’s natural to have expectations of people. 

I expect my husband to be faithful to me. 

I expect my Pastor to keep things I’ve told him to pray for me, between him and God.

I expect my best friend to always have my back. 

I expect my Accountant to file my taxes and not use my information to rip me off.

I expect my family members to be loyal to me over non-family. 

I expect much indeed. But I don’t put my husband, Pastor, best friend, Accountant or family members on pedestals. My hope is not wrapped up in them because they can and will fail me.

We must ask a tough question. What have we placed our value in and why

The bible says, We must keep our eyes fixed on Jesus, on whom our faith depends from beginning to end. He did not give up because of the cross. On the contrary, because of the joy that was waiting for him, he thought nothing of the disgrace of dying on the cross, and He is now seated at the right side of fellowship with God. ~Hebrews 12:2

Let’s be mindful on a regular basis, to have realistic expectations of our fellow man. Yes, there are lots of people who are fighting the good fight DAILY…living a life pleasing to God and just have it going on in general. But our praise is to be reserved for the King of Kings. The moment we hold them in high esteem…above others based on the perception of their worth/worthiness, is the moment we lose sight of God’s value.

**WEDNESDAYS WITH INDIGO**photo (6)

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

