I Am My Brother’s Keeper

IhopeWeAllMakeItThen the Lord said to Cain, “Why are you angry? Why is your face downcast?  If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.” ~ Genesis 4:6-7

There have been new relationships, marriages, business and career opportunities, new babies and spiritual breakthroughs; the list and celebrations go on. My life has been quiet for a while. Have I been able to celebrate the good things happening for others, when little seems to be happening in my life? Or do I shoot daggers at them while I turn green with envy? People all around me are receiving blessings, while I’m waiting on mine. Am I mad?

I’ve been reflecting for a while and watching people’s reaction when they hear the good news of others. More importantly, I’m mindful of my own reaction. Lately what I hear from God is, “I did it for him/her, I will do it for you.” I feel hopeful.

During moments when I see good happen to others I think about Cain’s conversation with God after his offering was not accepted, and Abel’s was. When God noticed that Cain was sad and mad, he pointed it out to him. Not only did he point out Cain’s demeanor, but also let him know that it was within his power to change his own situation – for better or worse. Basically, what you’ve given me isn’t “it,” you’ve got more work to do, but you can do it.

We know how things went between Cain and his brother Abel. Instead of focusing on what he could do with his own gift, Cain focused on the acceptance of his brother’s. Cain’s decision to not do the right thing lead to him murdering his brother. I may not go that far, but the venom that envy produces could lead to me killing a person’s character, dream or celebration by participating in gossip, character assassination, and inflicting self-doubt on them through negative talk.

dontbeaweaponHowever, just as it was possible for Cain to do the right thing and produce something with his own gift that was acceptable to God, I can too. Blocking or killing someone else’s blessings will not help me receive mine. It would actually block my blessings.

I’ve seen many upstarts, shutdown and burn out because they were too busy watching what others were producing to pay attention and foster their own projects, find their own gift, figure out their own path. The truth of the matter is, THERE IS ONLY ONE ME. That’s huge. No one else can make my unique contributions. So I should focus on being the best ME. I can do a good imitation of someone else for a little while, but the real me will show up eventually so why not just be the best me?

BeYourselfSo instead of hurting myself and others by envying their blessings and accomplishments, I choose to see it as hope for me. I get excited for them and for myself. What I am trying to achieve can be done. I can use my unique gifts, in my own unique way, for God’s glory. First, I should figure out what my gift is, then not only operate in my gift, but check my motives. The right motives and effort, rightly placed, will receive God’s blessing and favor.

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others. ~ Philippians 2:3-4

whatsformeisformeSo I can celebrate, support and be excited about the fruit that others produce through their gifts and the blessings that come to them. And while I wait, use my unique gifts to produce good fruit of my own.

When those near and dear to me are being blessed, that means my blessings are close by. Stay tuned… ❤

redhairpinkjacket

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Celine Saturdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

