My Failed Fast

Sooooo I completely bombed Lent this year. And I feel horrible.

Perhaps I set myself up by giving up way too many things that I love. Maybe it’s because I had no accountability partners this go ’round. Or I suppose this whole traveling at 90% thing is really getting the best of me.

Whatever the reason may be, there’s no denying I FAILED MISERABLY.

BUT…Not all was lost..because the one thing I did differently this year was not just give something UP, but I added something IN. This year for Lent I made a commitment to read my Bible every single day (Im trying one of those Bible-in-a-year plans) and thus far I’ve done pretty well. While I am SOOO NOT PROUD of my behavior during the Lenten fast and would never encourage anyone to make a commitment to God that one cannot keep, I DO KNOW that even in my failed fast I feel like God is still somewhat proud of me for trying. I also know that anything that brings you closer to God is always a win. I might also argue that the one small thing I did right during Lent MORE than outweighs all of my failed attempts to give up like ten things this time lol…

And I suppose that’s why I feel even more in love with God than before. The fact that He is understanding, and gracious, and just so amazing despite my immaturity and outright irreverence makes me want to please Him even more. Romans 5:8 reminds me that, “But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Even in my foolishness during Lent, I know that God still loves me and His forgiveness (while undeserved) is readily available. Sometimes we need a little failure to draw us closer to the One who will dust us off and allow us to try again.

All of that to say, its ok to fall- its BOUND to happen. Love keeps no record of wrongs (see 1 Corinthians 13:5), so love yourself enough to get over it and do better next time. After all, God has already moved past it, so you should too.

Happy Monday,

ACC

IMG_5587

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

