It’s Such a Little Thing

photo (16)For nothing is hidden that will not become evident, nor anything secret that will not be known and come to light. – Luke 8:17

I have a bad habit of putting things off and not addressing them until they become uncomfortable. I’m not sure why. I know that this is a bad habit because the very issue I’m ignoring, I already know that it’s an issue that I will need to handle, face, and correct eventually but often put it off. I’ve been down this road before, but not on the same matter. This month it was a cyst that has been on my upper lip for months. At first you could not see it unless I either pointed it out or pressed my lips together. However, the last couple of weeks it’s been on fire. Very red and of course it hurt.

What started out as what I thought would become a zit, became a hard mass under the skin. I did ask my esthetician about it and she made some suggestions of treatments to try. After my last facial, she tried a new treatment and told me to go see a doctor if it did not go away within a week. Well it did not go away. I discussed it with a friend and she said it looked like a sebaceous cyst, or hair bump. Google agreed. Hahaha!

I made a doctor’s appointment and went to the office optimistic that it would be resolved that day. Not so fast. She kept saying it is a cyst, “but it’s on your face,” stating the obvious. Nonetheless, I was passed on to a plastic surgeon because removing it would leave a scar. At this point, after five months and it now becoming painful I just want it cut out. The tomboy in me had even pierced it with a needle to see if it would burst. I know… I’m terrible. Anyway, of course now it is inflamed red with a zit on top of it. UGLY! Every time I talk to someone I think they’re staring at it. I try to act as if it’s not there, but I can FEEL it now and SEE it every time I look in the mirror or take a picture.

I went to a dermatologist this week and to my relief it has been removed and treated. There is a lesson to be learned here for me though; Don’t wait until something feels or looks bad to do something about it when it is out of place and order to begin with.

11188415_986916971353003_7930612698804594927_nThere are small matters that I encounter  that seem at the time not to be a big deal. However, most bad things in life don’t start out big. Little compromises, small missteps and minor infractions can often lead to greater consequences. The earlier these issues are addressed the less effort necessary in turning things around. I need to address matters when they come to my attention, before I get distracted by something else, and before they balloon into bigger issues. When I get a warning of conscience and something doesn’t feel right, even when no one else is watching or can see it, I need to take heed. Someday ignoring something small could mean my life.

I said all this to say, in the famous words of Barney Fife: “Nip it in the bud!” ❤

nipitinthebud

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Celine Saturdays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Such a Little Thing

  1. Pingback: Mindful Monday – #Mindfulness & #Patience | Silver Threading

Leave a Reply

