Eyes Wide Shut

1Sam16_7Three things will last forever–faith, hope, and love–and the greatest of these is love. – 1Corinthians 13:13

At times I get caught off guard by life situations. As I mature, some things I peep from way back. It’s understandable that I’m not emotionally prepared for the unforeseen. I got blindsided. But when I see it coming, what’s my excuse? Why do I get in my feelings?

It is because I hope. ‘Hope springs eternal,’ that this time I’ll be wrong. This time things will turn out differently. This time things will come out better. God warned me about trusting my heart (Jeremiah 17:9). It would make sense that if I can’t trust my own heart, it would be wise not to trust another person’s heart.

james1_5With matters of the heart, it is in my best interest to ask God what to do. After all, He is shaping my heart and knows what’s in it because he placed it there (Psalm 37:4; Ezekiel 36:26-27). He does the same for others. So if someone has a heart for Him, chances are that person has His heart and that’s where I can confidently place my trust.

This does not mean that I’ll never be hurt by my actions or that person’s. It means that with both of us submitting to his leading, our hearts will be put back right again, even if we have to be apart.

Phil2_131Pet4_8

My relational mistakes and failures remind me who I must rely on. They remind me that I and others are not perfect, but applying God’s perfect love to our relationships enables me to see past the imperfections; to see the God in them. They remind me to pray about everything and to pray often. As US Senate Chaplain Barry Black often says, ‘stupid-proof your life by asking for wisdom daily.’ It’s high time that I open my eyes, and remember to put on my God-prescribed glasses and throw away those worthless rose-colored ones. ❤skeptical

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Celine Saturdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

