I Can’t Stand That Dude!!!!

I was robbed today.
That statement that changed my entire perspective on a person yesterday.
You see, the Nu-Look dry cleaners in Capital Heights, MD is a place I’ve always dreaded going.
It’s so close to my house, that I can actually walk to it. But the Asian guy who owns it, also works the counter, and is always so rude. He has the most stank disposition ever. It has really pissed me off in the past. I mean, he has this business in our community, yet he can barely open his mouth to say hello to us…his customers. 
FullSizeRender
It has rubbed me wrong on more than one occasion, so I often sacrifice convenience to travel a bit further to go where I feel more respected. But yesterday, I needed to pick up clothes that had been left there for a few of weeks. It was around 3pm. As I peeked through the door, I saw no customers and the owner in the back of the store with his head on a table. It appeared as if he was sleeping.
As I walked in, I simply told him my phone number, so he could look up my info. He retrieved my clothing. Other than that, it was a silent exchange, as usual. He told me the total. I pulled out my credit card. When he swiped it, he realized the machine wasn’t working. He noticed the cord was missing. He apologized for keeping me waiting, as he searched for the cord. I was thinking to myself, how does a credit card machine cord become “lost”? Everyone pays by credit card. It was just bizarre. 

About a minute later, he located the cord. As he placed it back into the machine, he sighed and said, “I was robbed today.” I actually looked at him and saw the despair in his eyes. Then he pointed to his head to show me the gash that was left by his encounter with the thieves. “They hit me with gun.” For some reason, before that moment, I hadn’t even noticed he had dried blood on his shirt. My heart instantly broke for him. I said, “Oh my God sir…I’m so sorry that happened to you. Why are you still here today? There is no one to help you?” He told me that his wife was ill and he had to stay to run the business. There was a bit of a language barrier, but he seemed genuinely touched that I sincerely showed interest in his plight. 
 
I paid for my dry cleaning and as I was leaving, he brought the clothing to my car for me. I told him to take care of himself and I would be praying for him. I drove home. As I pulled into my driveway, I broke down in tears and just prayed for that man. I also cried out to God for forgiveness and had to repent. Bottom line, be careful who you allow yourself to hate. In no way am I justifying his rude behavior towards his customers. But who knows what that man has been through in that place over the years to jade him regarding all the Black customers he services daily. It’s not right, but he’s human. I was able to see him as such and subsequently today, God told me not to forget him. So, as I was out running errands, I ran to CVS and got him a card and a gift…just a small token as a gesture that he is on my mind. I chose a gift bag with a scripture of love on it and took it to him this afternoon. 
IMG_0372
I walked in and smiled at him and said hello. I handed him the gift bag and said, “Yesterday you told me you got robbed. I am sorry you had to experience that. I hope this gift brightens your day.” He opened the gift so fast…like a kid at Christmas, as if he never received a gift from someone. He saw it and said, “This for me?” He looked me in my eyes, thanked me, and touched my hand in a sincere gesture of gratefulness. I told him, “Have a good day. I’ll be praying for you. God bless you and your business.” Then I left to go home.
The gift was nothing fancy. Only a pair of foam in-soled house shoes I found for $10. But that gift was everything to him in that moment. If nothing else, I wanted to be the vessel to let him know, people are fundamentally caring. Don’t allow what a few criminals do, to make you treat everyone like they are a potential robber.
James 3:13Who among you is wise and understanding? Let him show by his good behavior, his deeds in the gentleness of wisdom.
*Wednesdays With INDIGO*i-wMhpphm-XL
About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Wednesdays with iNDIGO and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Can’t Stand That Dude!!!!

  1. Danielle Abrams Lloyd says:

    This was absolutely beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Faith says:

    Beautiful! I was wondering if the blog was still going! I thought I was subscribed!

  3. Rickey says:

    I’m echoing everyone else… ‘Simply Beautiful.’ We never really know what others are going through. Way to let your light shine.

Leave a Reply

