Top 5 Ways I Know I’ve Found a Friend

I was never one to believe in having friends at work. In my mind colleagues were fun from 9-5, but nothing more. At this point in my life I have a very stable, close group of best friends whom I wouldn’t trade for the world. But I’ve come to learn over the last 5 years that life just isn’t that black and white. Sometimes, you find yourself loving and caring for the people you work with, as a friend.

So today while sending a friend (who happens to be a colleague) birthday wishes, I highlighted the top 5 ways that I know I’ve found a true friend and what’s funny is the more I thought about it, the more I understood how SPOT ON this list is when we think about how God has been a friend to us. So, I thought I’d share that list tonight and push you to 1. be SUPER grateful for God’s friendship and 2. think about the ways you could be a better friend to Him.

Top 5 Ways I Know I’ve Found a Friend

1. We have inside jokes (or better yet secrets, memories, and lessons).

Not sure about you, but I DEFINITELY have some secrets and inside jokes that only God and I are privy to. I am often so humbled when I remember that God legit knows everything about me like the number of hairs on my head. Honestly, there are some silly things I’ve done that I ONLY want God to know about lol. You too?

2. I’ve said some not-so-nice words (and have done some not-so-nice things), and yet was still forgiven.

God’s grace and mercy; simply put. Ephesians 4:32 invites us to, “Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”

3. We’ve had uncomfortable conversations about EVERYTHING.

Yea, I’ve GONE there with God. What good does it do to hide anything when He literally knows EVERYTHING, lol? Legit reminds me of when Adam tried to hide his nakedness from God. Impossible.

4. We’ve attended events outside of work (i.e. church) together.

God legit goes everywhere with me. Even when/where I act a fool smh. I even love how God reminds us in Joshua 1:9 by encouraging, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

5. We’ve made sacrifices for one another.

One word: Jesus! And although my sacrifices for Him will NEVER be enough, I still try. Oh, and checkout John 3:16 as a reminder of God’s ultimate sacrifice for us.

Happy Monday friends. Until next time…

-ACC

IMG_1717(1)

 

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 Ways I Know I’ve Found a Friend

  1. Sin Smiley says:

    Love you Sis💚 Beautiful in every way as always *FriendsForLife*

Leave a Reply

