Never Seen the Righteous Forsaken…

Today a friend asked me something that inevitably turned into a fight because I was so hurt by their words it made me cry.

He simply asked me “Do you appreciate the things I do for you?”

To me, this question was presumptuous in that I am not grateful for what others do for me, but for him, it was a need for confirmation and recognition. I think the reason I was so saddened is because I don’t ever want anyone to think that the things they do for me go unnoticed. In fact, I tend to go out of my way to show people how gracious I am for things they do. After letting my mind wander I began thinking about what if God was the one who asked me that same question.

“Do you appreciate the things I do for you?”

My answer would be a resounding “YES!” but if I thought about how I let Him know, I’m not so sure I would be as confident with my answer. I could easily say that I generally thank Him everyday for what He does for me through prayer and meditation. But could I do more?

I think that showing appreciation goes beyond thanking someone, but also returning the love. If God blesses me with an abundance of material things, then I can thank God through prayer, but I can also give things away to others as a way of showing God my appreciation. Or perhaps if God blesses me a particular talent, it is not enough for me to simply thank Him, but to use that talent to bless others, again SHOWING God my appreciation.

All in all, this is short, sweet, and to the point:

Go ABOVE and BEYOND showing God you appreciate Him and He will continue to show you His appreciation for you.

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never Seen the Righteous Forsaken…

  1. iNDIGO says:

    Indeed sis. I always say, if God never does another thing for us, He’s already done enough anyhow. But we can ALWAYS do more. We as believers must CONSTANTLY challenge ourselves to SHOW appreciation through our thoughts, words, and deeds…especially as it pertains to our Lord and Savior. Thank you SOOOOO much for this “short & sweet” post. Sometimes, less is more. Love my Bold&Fab sister.

Leave a Reply

