Portion Control

As promised, this week I have decided to address what I think is an issue both in the Kingdom, and out. So let me give you the fast facts before giving my spiel…

The New York Times reported almost a year ago, that according to the CDC, 37% of American adults are obese, not overweight, but OBESE! Thats 1 out of every 3 Americans!

According to The Journal of the American Medical Association, African Americans have the highest obesity rates, whereas 37% of Black men and a crazy 50% of Black women struggle with obesity.

HEY HEY HEY!

Lastly, the most shocking numbers, if the aforementioned weren’t bad enough, Times reported that “68 percent of adults and nearly one-third of children are considered at least overweight, with a body mass index of 25 or higher.” S M H

We’ve got to do better.

So what do I think about this, you ask? Well it’s simple:

For many of us, overeating is something we have LEARNED in our lifetime. “Feeling full” is not complete without some sort of pain accompanied with it. We have to understand that as Christians, God expects us to be the example, and if we are the ones to say grace and then smash a whole PIG afterward, we need to rethink His expectation.

So what is HIS expectation? Well…

Proverbs 23:20-21 warns us, “Do not join those who drink too much wine or gorge themselves on meat, for drunkards and gluttons become poor, and drowsiness clothes them in rags.” Proverbs 28:7 declares, “He who keeps the law is a discerning son, but a companion of gluttons disgraces his father.” Proverbs 23:2 proclaims, “Put a knife to your throat if you are given to gluttony.”

But what is Gluttony? It’s simply the overindulgence of food, and the lack of control we show for our bodies. Which essentially, speaks to other areas of our lives. Really, what it balls down to is our inability to control our fleshly desires, perpetuating that Adam and Eve syndrome, that JESUS already paid the price for. After all is said and done, there are physical, emotional, and spiritual consequences of Gluttony, and should NOT be taken very lightly!

Really, the only food you SHOULD overindulge in, is food for the spirit! Can I get a Amen? As bad as it sounds, I think this Word was for me this week… so here’s my challenge to myself:

Say it with me: PORTION CONTROL!

Do I really need a whole sweet potato pie to myself? lol Nah..not so much

At the end of the day, we need to understand that our meals are not our LAST meals, and that God’s grace is sufficient!

Feast on that-

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Saturdays with April and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Portion Control

  1. Mom says:

    I guess I shouldn’t have ate the whole container of Ben & Jerry’s pistachio last night. ; (

    Ok, this is surely “food for thought” and I’ll try and do better.

  2. indigo says:

    Girl, I SOOOOOO look forward to Saturdays w/ April Christina!! You are allowing yourself the freedom to open up more on here. You show the dynamics of Christianity…it’s high tides and it’s vulerability. You are truly a blessing to myself and the readers. This is so not about us, but the kingdom. Your faithfulness speaks volumes. God be glorified!

  3. April says:

    Lol mom that is NOT cool but trying is all I ask!! Love youuu! And Jocelyn.. I only do what God instructs! Praise God for obedience lol! Sidenote.. I ALWAYS read every word posted on this site but being quiet me.. Tend to refrain from commenting. I promise to be more vocal : ) love you talented girls!!

  4. Jennifer Beckwith says:

    yeah so i def. feel convicted…i think i have seriously struggled with “portion control” all my life…more importantly i realized that part of the reason being is that i LOVE food….u make a great point pumpkin that the only thing we should be “overindulging” in is the SPIRIT…starting today i will make conscious decisions regarding my portions…

    ps- you always chose the “right” pictures for your post…very thoughtful piggy

  5. Ify says:

    Putting down PEPSI! And all the other things I over-indulge in..including my own imaginations! I loved this sis. and yes…you can get an AMEN!!!

Leave a Reply

