Are You Having An Affair With God?

Good morning ladies and gents!

My humblest apologies for my tardiness, but lets get right to it shall we?

So Marsha Ambrosius’s new song has been playing OVER and OVER again in my mind for the past week. I even woke up with this song in my head. ARGGHHHHHH!!

I mean I like the song, but dang, can I get a break? No really, just thinking about the fact that something so meaningless can occupy so much memory space on my hard drive makes me a bit worried. SMH. This pushed me to consider my relationship with God. Not only are the lyrics appropriate to dissect for this blog but also the concept of a song being able to take hold of my life in such a strong way speaks volumes to me.

SO here it is, the two lessons I’ve learned from this random dilema:

1. Marsha’s catchy lyric “I hope she cheats on you with a basketball player” pushes me to think about all the times I have asked God for something, but He denied me that something (or someone) because He and I BOTH knew that at my present level in my spiritual walk, I wouldn’t be able to handle it. What do I mean? Well, if a simple song can consume my life, what else can take over without my permission? It is written in Deuteronomy 4:24, For the LORD your God is a consuming fire, a jealous God. This lets me know, straight up, that my God wants ME to Himself, and anything that may come between that will certainly not be given to me without a consequence, which brings me to my next point:

2. The enemy literally WAITS for the moment where he can say “I knew she’d cheat on you with a basketball player” and then point his finger and laugh. Now, I hope you aren’t taking the translation of the lyric as forward as I write it, but that you are able to read in between the lines to see the point of it all. Are you having an affair with God? Are there areas in your life that take up more time than necessary? Are you waking up with a particular “song” on your heart that is taking away from your relationship with God? Are other things taking priority in your life? Hmm… You may be cheating on God with a basketball player…

I don’t want to treat God like a mistress..

_April Christina_

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Saturdays with April. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are You Having An Affair With God?

  1. Amber Curley says:

    Wow…..that’s good sis……I don’t want to treat God like a mistress either. Time to re-evaluate some things. Good stuff!

    -Amber C.

  2. Mom says:

    That’s funny, I was just reading about that today-about how GOD is a jealous GOD! And I thought about how much we allow ourselves to place things & people before him. New shoes we must have, food, partners, jobs and in the end all those things let us down-except GOD. I’ve wasted 51 years living that way and it shows. Makes you want to bow your head and cry.

    I love your wisdom and honesty in your blogs and I’m proud you are my daughter.

  3. boldandfab says:

    Yes April! This is on point right here… God has certainly dealt with me in this area. I truly believe that a lot of things I wanted in the past didn’t manifest because I would have been consumed with them and taken my focus away from my relationship with God. I’ve made a conscious effort this year to make sure God was first in every area. Happy to say that I’ve been successful for the most part! Looking forward to what 2011 has in store for me and my B&F sisters! ~ Bianca

  4. indigo says:

    Love your boots AND your blog!!! FAB and OH SO TRUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! God is the ultimate lesson teacher. May you continue to heed to His voice in all you do and endeavor towards hun.

Leave a Reply

