Tea of the town is Paula and Robin are Separating…

ImageTea of the town and word on the street is Robin Thicke and Paula Patton have separated.

So I know we’re not a gossip blog, but this news will be the foundation of my piece today soooooo leggo

Soon after the news broke this afternoon that longtime husband and wife, Paula Patton and Robin Thicke were splitting after 8 years of marriage (and many more years as childhood sweethearts), social media BLEW UP (as with every major event). As I scrolled through my Twitter feed I couldn’t believe how many people praised the gods for their separation, tweeting “so Paula single now? *clears throat* Hey Boo…”, or, “Paula Patton back on the market?? Thats me I called it long ago #Dibs #Onit“.. and the simple, yet equally as harsh “Yall surprised?“. Read more here… Now, don’t get me wrong, there were lots of “I’m sad” tweets, expressing sentiments of regret and overall disapproval, but even in those, many had undertones of blame (mostly being place on Robin Thicke) which still shocked me given the fact that no one really, truly knows their reasons for separation. At any rate, I’ve noticed this new trend in recent years where people are cheering for break-ups and rooting for downfalls, as if they get pleasure from watching someone else hurt. Let me be the first to say, being spiteful, jealous, and an overall HATER will get you NO WHERE!! Even in cases of fictional characters such as Oliva Pope of Scandal and Mary Jane of Being Mary Jane (see Monisha’s post from Friday), I can’t seem to understand how people can root for those characters when they are essentially home-wreckers. scand

I’m sorry but #ICannot and WILL NOT idolize a demon, yall can have thatI truly believe that the more we cheer for the demise of others, the more we set ourselves apart from God. No matter what the circumstances are surrounding someone’s downfall, it is NEVER our place to talk about them, laugh and mock, or even express happiness in their plight. It IS our place to pray for them, send positive thoughts their way, and refrain from placing blame and finding fault. As Christians, we have a responsibility to represent God and Christ in ALL facets of life, so that when others see us they see ultimately see God. If people see us hand-clapping when Olivia Pope gets it in with the married president, then we indirectly condone adultery (fictitious or not). Call me extreme all you want, but I’d rather be on fire for Christ than a lukewarm Christian any day. I love 1 John 3:13 that says “By this it is evident who are the children of God, and who are the children of the devil: whoever does not practice righteousness is not of God, nor is the one who does not love his brother.”

I’m ranting, but I guess all I really wanna say is this:

Be careful what you confess with your mouth (& tweet for that matter) and be careful whose team you choose to be on because you can only be on one. When you root for the team of the enemy, you then become God’s enemy. I encourage you to checkout the full context of 1 Kings 18, but I love verse 21, which says “Elijah went before the people and said, “How long will you waver between two opinions? If the LORD is God, follow him; but if Baal is God, follow him.” But the people said nothing.” Please know what goes around comes around. If you secretly get happy off of someone’s pain (even just a little), you need to check your spirit and ask God to renew your heart. Also please know that when I write, I preach to myself, so no hard feelings to any of our [guilty] readers lol. Please know we, the ladies of B&F, are growing with you.

In closing, let’s work on 3 things in 2014 shall we?…

1. Minding our business: I will not chime in on something I have no idea about, but instead I will pray for others.

2. Being nice: If I don’t have anything nice to say, I wont say anything at all.

3. Choosing our team: I understand that I cannot serve two masters.

Until next time folks,

ACC

me

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in April Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tea of the town is Paula and Robin are Separating…

  1. Jocelyn "iNDIGO" Saunders says:

    Your work is superb sis! No we aren’t a “gossip blog” but praise God that you saw fit to use a current, celebrity news event to witness to us about how we often profess and even co-sign destruction w/ our mouths. Whether it’s about marriage or any other topic, so often we have the misery loves company attitude and validating the world’s views instead of standing firm on God’s word, hopefulness, optimism, & the like. We have become such a pessimistic culture…almost rooting for the enemy…sometimes w/o even realizing it. Thank you for the REAL TALK here that calls it to the surface. Agape!

Leave a Reply

