Sailing In High Winds

“We must free ourselves of the hope that the sea will ever rest. We must learn to sail in high winds.” ~Aristotle Onassis

“The best is yet to come!” How many times have you heard that saying? Usually, it is followed by a shout, some tears, and a temporal feeling that the best is possibly around the corner. Yet, if we were to be honest with ourselves, the real comfort many of us feel in that all too familiar church-setting is knowing that we are not the only ones WAITING for “somethings” big. I say “somethings” because it is usually not just one thing; all our issues appear to be connected:  We need more energy to get more work done.  We need more work done to get favor for a raise.  We need a raise to pay the mortgage, car note, and school loans.  And the grocery list continues.  We also have a separate “Jesus, get this outta my way list”: whether it is the mean-spirited co-worker, disinterested boss, the unforgiving spouse, or the constant calls from various creditors, there is always something that we feel “if only I didn’t have THIS in my life…all other things would fall into place.”  The other day, my mom and I were talking about this very issue for a loved one of ours–how this young lady was being spoken to very harshly by her father, and this young lady called me upset…not knowing what to do!  She was overwhelmed by her father’s tone, his age, and his hierarchy.   She held her tongue so as not to disrespect him, but it was taking a serious toll on her mental and emotional state.  My mom—a woman of VERY few words–said this:

Jesus did not say PRAY about your mountain.  He said SPEAK to your mountain.  Work your authority and see things work.

BAM!  There is so much behind this statement, I don’t know if my explanation

Image from "su voz latina"

will do it justice.  But know this, what you are praying for to get out of the way was probably an issue before it was your issue.  It may be a problem, but it is NOT your peril.  My mother reminded me that there are some things we have to be confident in and authoritatively OVERCOME with our faith.  Here’s another way of looking at it: if we get comfortable with the fact that turmoil is apart of life; that pain is our tax for living; and that we have overcome challenges in the past…then we will SURELY be able to sail in high winds!  Your boat may get battered, but at least it attempted to cross the ocean to a safe shore.

When the disciples cried out to Jesus when the storm was relentlessly rocking their boat, Jesus did calm the storm..but BEFORE He did, He said “Why are you fearful? Oh yea of little faith.”  (Matthew 8:23-27).  What Jesus was telling them was they had the power to calm the storm themselves!  In fact, in John 14:12, Jesus tells us that we will not only be able to what He did while on this earth, but that we would be able to do GREATER WORKS!  So get Jesus in YOU!  For greater is HE that is in you than anything stopping you in this world!  (1 John 4:4).

The best is STILL yet to come! You do have authority through Christ Jesus!  Happy sailing!

Ify

About boldandfab

Where Being A Witness Meets Chic Sophistication! Where Every Word Has Profound Meaning. It's all us...ALL REAL! B & F.
This entry was posted in Thursdays with Ify and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sailing In High Winds

  1. iNDIGO says:

    And within the smooth sailing, there is sweet peace! Each day I get a little closer to “sailing in high winds” myself. Great post today my B&F sister.

  2. boldandfab says:

    “Jesus did not say PRAY about your mountain. He said SPEAK to your mountain. Work your authority and see things work!!!” I LOVE THIS!!! I have ALWAYS been an aggressive woman when it came to standing up for myself & my family; However, I REALLY had to pray that God would change my APPROACH/TONE(& He did)…I’m SURELY a prayer but I’m with SPEAKING/WORKING my AUTHORITY 2;-) Amazing Blog…Thanks sis!!!

    S.Carter

  3. Mom Dukes says:

    Words of Wisdom from a mother… so rare yet so needed in this day and time. Thank the Lord EVERYDAY for your mom, Ify! Godly moms are used by the Lord to help our children see His light through the dark gloom of this lost world. Love ya…

  4. This is right on time! It came on the heels of my listening to “Glory After This” with emphasis on the words, “Soon the storm will pass over.” And also on heels of listening to the first black female professor at my school talk about how we–as black women–need to stop giving our power away. And now, the third time is a charm with your awesome post reminding me that God has endowed us with more power than we access on a daily basis. Time to tell the mountains be cast into the sea!

Leave a Reply

